Econo Lodge Times Square

Midtown Budget Hotel
Econo Lodge Times Square #363 of 510 hotels in New York City #363 of 510 hotels in New York City
Star ratings explained
302 W 47th St New York, NY 10036
(212) 246-1991

Why we like it

  • Constantly has one of the most affordable rates in the area
  • The complimentary breakfast includes New York bagels, pastries, oatmeal, and more
  • There is always hot coffee and tea available in the lobby
  • Has the classic dependability and feel of other Econo Lodges
  • Consistently has one of the most affordable rates in the area

What you need to know

  • Cozy rooms, perfect for urban explorers
  • There are limited amenities on-site, some love this, others don't
  • Complimentary ear plugs guard against Street noise
  • Parking is available for $30/day, one of the cheapest options in New York
  • Theater buffs will appreciate a short walk to the Tkts booth, just two blocks from here

Popular Times Square Features

Walk to Times Square Walk to Central Park Free Breakfast On-site Bar On-site Restaurant Rooftop Bar Free WiFi Smoke Free

Location

Just two blocks from Times Square, you'll be in the heart of New York's tourist attractions. Broadway Theatres, Central Park, and Restaurant Row are all in easy walking distance. The 49 St Station, just around the corner, opens up the larger Manhattan area.

  • Distance to Central Park: 1.1 mile
  • Distance to Times Square: 0.3 mile

Property Amenities

Food and drink

  • Free breakfast
  • Coffee/tea in common areas
  • Shared microwave
  • Shared refrigerator

Property services

  • Coffee/tea in common areas
  • Luggage storage
  • Concierge services
  • Elevator/lift
  • 24-hour front desk
  • Multilingual staff
  • Smoke-free property
  • ATM/banking
  • Gift shops or newsstand
  • Free newspapers in lobby
  • Grocery/convenience store
  • Tours/ticket assistance

Parking

  • Self parking (surcharge)
  • RV, bus, truck parking (surcharge)
  • Long-term parking (surcharge)
  • Offsite parking discounted rates available

Activities

  • Shopping on site

Shuttles and transportation

  • Airport transportation (surcharge)
  • Limo or Town Car service available

Business services

  • 24-hour business center
  • Computer station

In-Room Amenities

Features

  • Air conditioning
  • In-room safe
  • Iron/ironing board
  • Desk
  • Private bathroom
  • Shower/tub combination

Bathroom

  • Free toiletries
  • Hair dryer
  • Shower/tub combination

Media and electronics

  • Free WiFi
  • Free local calls
  • Flat-panel TV
  • Phone
  • Premium TV channels
  • Satellite TV service

Services

  • Daily housekeeping

Bedding and linens

  • Down comforter
  • Pillowtop mattress

Reviews

Econo Lodge Times Square

1,456 Reviews #363 of 510 hotels in New York City

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating

  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
  • Excellent
    421
  • Very Good
    624
  • Average
    257
  • Poor
    69
  • Terrible
    85

Recent Reviews

EbonieMarie wrote a review on March 11, 2020
Trip Type: Business
  • Rooms
  • Value
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Cleanliness
  • Service

The Dusty Box In Times Square

The Box In Times Square - Stay anywhere but here. Its SMALLER THAN SMALL... Can't even take a bath in the tub, its SMALL... Its old, dingy, dusty, run down, definitely has an old timey smell and all that in the carpet, walls and curtains.

John Sharma, Owner at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you did not like our room. We feel we provide a good value for the amenities we offer compare to similar properties nearby, and we are sorry this was not your impression. We will take your helpful comments into consideration when discussing future changes and improvements. We hope that you will consider giving us another chance in the future to provide you with a great stay. Warm Regards, Aleksandra Guest Service Associate Econo Lodge Times Square

drossetto29 wrote a review on February 29, 2020 Sao Paulo, SP
Trip Type:
  • Rooms
  • Value
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Cleanliness
  • Service

best cost benefit

Although the room being small and coffee space is limited, they do not charge the resort fee which helps a lot in a trip to the United States and is a block from the Times Square. We loved our stay and we will come back for sure.

John Sharma, Owner at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed your trip to the US and we are privileged that we were able to contribute to your successful visit. Our best compliment is a returning guest! We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Warm Regards, Aleksandra Guest Service Associate Econo Lodge Times Square

wattssemc wrote a review on February 26, 2020 Gloucester, Virginia
Trip Type:

Beware of horrendous accommodations and a dishonorable management

On check in we were informed that their elevator did not extend past the 6th floor. Our room was on the 7th, after explaining to the clerk that health conditions could be exasperated(artificial knees, cardiac bypass and stents, hypertension) management would not change our room. Additionally, the next day, the elevator was out of order, as was the ice machine for our entire stay. Sofa bed was broken, thermostat set on 80 degrees brought the room temperature to 60. The emergency door outside of our room was broken, no alarm, and left open, frigid air blowing 24/7, a legal issue as well. Electrical cords abound, a serious safety issue. We left a message for the manager, no one EVER returned our call. We informed the desk clerk on 4 different occasions regarding our concerns, nothing was addressed.

John Sharma, Owner at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Unfortunately, things outside of our control happen such as ice machine disfunction and the cold weather of NYC. However, we do our best to resolve any concerns immediately and ensure that our guests still enjoy their stay. The ice machine was fixed, and while our central heating system sometimes cannot please every guests' preferences, we provided you with two space heaters to ensure that the temperature in your room is to your liking. We are sincerely sorry that our solutions were not satisfactory. We hope you will consider giving us another chance in the future. Warm Regards, Aleksandra Guest Service Associate Econo Lodge Times Square

schamber23 wrote a review on February 02, 2020 Franklin, Massachusetts
Trip Type: Couples

Overnight for dinner & a show

The Econolodge in Time Square was clean , but definitely small. It was perfect for an overnight stay, when all you were looking for was a clean & safe place to sleep. It was a good value and very close to time square & the theater district.

SharmaJohn, Guest Service & Sales Associate at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay overall and we hope to serve you again in the future. Yours sincerely, Aleksandra Guest Service & Sales Associate Econo Lodge Times Square

Djackso103 wrote a review on January 24, 2020 Evansville, Indiana
Trip Type:
  • Rooms
  • Value
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Cleanliness
  • Service

Cozy but comfortable

Tiny and they could use some updating of bed materials but overall pleasant to stay at and very central to time square activities. Service was great but they need to make it more clear about their debt card policy that holds an amount equal to the total amount of stay.

SharmaJohn, Guest Service & Sales Associate at Econo Lodge Times Square, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and loved our central location. We do not hold a total amount of stay on the card, but we do authorize the card for guarantee purposes, usually first night of your stay. If any issues persist, please do not hesitate to reach out to us directly. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Warm Regards, Aleksandra Guest Service & Sales Associate Econo Lodge Times Square

Policies

Deposit and cancellation policies vary by type of room. Please see policy information upon selection of room type.