The Westin New York at Times Square

Midtown Convention Hotel
The Westin New York at Times Square #273 of 507 hotels in New York City #273 of 507 hotels in New York City
Star ratings explained
270 W 43rd Street New York, NY 10036
(866) 837-4183

Why we like it

  • This is a very distinctive hotel, with an unusual shape and palette
  • The decor is fashionably contemporary
  • Between the mini bar, room service, and on-site dining, there are plenty of convenient ways to ditch your hunger
  • Corner rooms have fantastic views
  • Rooms are a generous size for New York

What you need to know

  • Breakfast is available, but not complimentary
  • The coffee/tea facilities and the mini bar in your room should handle your cravings
  • A $30 credit is provided each day for use toward drinks, food, and mini bar charges
  • Security is great, you'll be very safe during your stay
  • There is great access to mass transit from this location

Popular Times Square Features

Walk to Times Square Walk to Central Park Free Breakfast On-site Bar On-site Restaurant Rooftop Bar Free WiFi Smoke Free

Location

There is a good mix of options available at this location. Not only will you find an abundance of theaters and restaurants, you can easily navigate to Times Square. There are some signature eateries nearby, like Carlo's Bakery and Carmine's Italian. Mass transit is abundant, with plenty of subway lines and a bus depot within an easy walk. The Port Authority bus stop also has subway access and is your closest stop.

  • Distance to Times Square: 0.1 mile
  • Distance to Central Park: 0.9 mile

Property Amenities

Property services

  • Laundry facilities
  • Luggage storage
  • Porter/bellhop
  • Concierge services
  • Dry cleaning/laundry services
  • Elevator/lift
  • Express check-in
  • Express check-out
  • 24-hour front desk
  • Multilingual staff
  • Safe-deposit box at front desk
  • Smoke-free property
  • Television in common areas
  • ATM/banking
  • Gift shops or newsstand
  • Conference space
  • Tours/ticket assistance
  • Newspapers in lobby (surcharge)

Business services

  • Business center

Food and drink

  • Bar/lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Health club
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Coffee shop or cafe

Parking

  • Self parking (surcharge)
  • Valet parking (surcharge)

In-Room Amenities

Features

  • Air conditioning
  • Iron/ironing board
  • Desk
  • Private bathroom
  • Blackout drapes/curtains
  • Shower/tub combination
  • In-room safe (laptop compatible)
  • Deep soaking bathtub

Media and electronics

  • WiFi (surcharge)
  • Television
  • Pay movies
  • Phone
  • Premium TV channels

Food and drink

  • Refrigerator
  • Minibar

Bathroom

  • Bathrobes
  • Free toiletries
  • Hair dryer
  • Shower/tub combination

Services

  • Daily housekeeping

Bedding and linens

  • Premium bedding
  • Hypo-allergenic bedding available
  • Pillowtop mattress
  • Rollaway/extra beds (surcharge)

Reviews

The Westin New York at Times Square

3,675 Reviews #273 of 507 hotels in New York City

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating

  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
  • Excellent
    1679
  • Very Good
    1196
  • Average
    438
  • Poor
    211
  • Terrible
    151
  • GreenLeader Platinum level

Recent Reviews

SarahS12479 wrote a review on October 22, 2019 Stockport
Trip Type: Family

Not what expected

I have only just arrived first room next to a motor room, asked to move staff said no motor room here but clearly labelled motor room. Second room there is a pubic hair and floor not fully clean but can’t be bothered to complain and change again. Check in woman not cheerful either. Oh wel 5 nights here so just got to hope it gets better!
Relianess wrote a review on October 22, 2019 Iceland
Trip Type:
  • Sleep Quality
  • Cleanliness
  • Service

Disappointed

I stayed at the Westin with friends during a weekend trip to New York. We were a group of 3. We had booked a room for 3 persons with 2 queen beds via third party booking site. When we arrived, we were provided with a small corner room with 1 king bed. We complained right away, this was in no way a room for 3 people. The front desk staff offered to bring a rollaway bed AND CHARGE US FOR IT. We were really unhappy with this and contacted the agent we had made the booking with. The agent contacted the hotel at once and found out that they were overbooked so unable to offer any upgrades. We were unable to switch hotels because no availability in the area. Agent was able to get us a rollaway bed with no charge. For a hotel of this class, this is very poor service. We did not feel valued as guests at any moment. The room was outdated and could use a renovation, pillows were uncomfortable, shower very powerless... I will not even consider staying at this hotel next time I find myself in New York.
Anne S wrote a review on October 21, 2019
Trip Type:
  • Value
  • Sleep Quality
  • Service

Big disappointment

The Westin Hotel in Times Square is a surprising disappointment. On the first of our two night stay, a loud, disturbing party next door led us to call the front desk. Because there was no Front Desk button, we dialed O and waited and waited for someone to answer. After many minutes, we tried the Emergency button, and after another prolonged wait, we finally reached someone. We reported this the next morning and were upgraded. In both rooms, however, the clock was not set, the television cut out, and the WiFi was almost nonexistent. On our first evening, no doorman was present to help us secure a cab. The final insult was a broken Down escalator which made schlepping our luggage extremely inconvenient. If Westin hopes to maintain a decent reputation, they really need to “up their game.”

TeamMarriott, Manager at The Westin New York at Times Square, responded to this review

Dear Anne S, We are disappointed to learn your stay was met with some difficulties. Thank you for sharing your experience with your welcomed review. We value your feedback and always want to ensure a satisfactory stay. We are glad you let us know about the disturbance from other guests and that a room upgrade was offered. We are, however, looking into why it was challenging reaching us. We always want to respond promptly to our guest's needs. A well-appointed guest room is also necessary and we have our engineering associates addressing a few areas that need our attention. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to improve and we are confident we can restore the high Westin standards you have come to love should you return. Safe and pleasant travels. Be Well, Michael Wlodkowski General Manager

7Stephen1 wrote a review on October 20, 2019 Wirral, United Kingdom
Trip Type:
  • Sleep Quality
  • Cleanliness
  • Service

Good central location for New York!

We stayed here in room 4137 (good view of Empire State), quiet clean room with daily maid service. With Virgin we had a daily allowance of $30 which would but you 1 beer and 3 cokes so got us a drink each night. Breakfast extremely expensive $104 for x4 continental breakfasts. Plenty of local restaurants within minutes walk to get breakfast at a fraction of the price. Overall a great location for Times Square, Central Park, Madison Square Gardens, Pier 83, Top of the Rock and Empire State. Just beware when you check out they seem to take a pre auth on your card (we had $150 transaction on our Travel Card for 48 hours before this was corrected to $32).

TeamMarriott, General Manager at The Westin New York at Times Square, responded to this review

Dear 7Stephen1, We appreciate you highlighting our dynamic location near Empire State, Top of the Rock, New York Water Taxi | Pier 83, Madison Square Garden, and many other attractions. We are also happy to read you enjoyed the energizing views of Empire State Building from your guestroom. However, we regret your disappointment with the pricing of our breakfast offerings. Thank you for choosing The Westin New York at Times Square, and we hope to welcome you back soon. Be Well, Michael Wlodkowski General Manager

Maps45926 wrote a review on October 19, 2019
Trip Type:
  • Rooms
  • Sleep Quality
  • Service

Thank You Westin Times Square

The visit celebrating Mom's 85th birthday was great! Thanks to Gm Michael Wlodkowski and FDM Tracy Schwartz for the special personalization! Much appreciated. Great location. Clean rooms. Attentive service. - Barb R

TeamMarriott, General Manager at The Westin New York at Times Square, responded to this review

Dear Maps45926, We are glad we exceeded your expectations on your mom's birthday. We are thrilled to read you loved our dynamic location and refreshing accommodations. We work hard to deliver a revitalizing experience for all of our guests, so we celebrate reviews such as yours. Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin New York At Times Square on your next visit to our vibrant city. Be Well, Michael Wlodkowski General Manager

Policies

Deposit and cancellation policies vary by type of room. Please see policy information upon selection of room type.