Paramount

Midtown Hip Hotel
Paramount #375 of 511 hotels in New York City #375 of 511 hotels in New York City
Star ratings explained
235 West 46th Street New York, NY 10036
(212) 764-5500

Why we like it

  • Rooms are spotlessly clean and carefully maintained
  • The lobby has an impressive atmosphere, which sets a nice mood for your stay
  • The Diamond Horseshoe Cabaret Theater is located below, and is quite an experience
  • Decor goes for a hip aesthetic-and succeeds beautifully
  • A game area is tucked into the house restaurant is a stylish diversion

What you need to know

  • Rooms are lovely with ultra-modern sensibilities
  • You can leave your luggage in secure storage when you check out
  • WiFi is available for free in the lobby, or at a surcharge in your room
  • The on-site dining venue also offers live performances
  • A historical treasure, this hotel opened in 1927 and has a rich musical legacy

Popular Times Square Features

Walk to Times Square Walk to Central Park Free Breakfast On-site Bar On-site Restaurant Rooftop Bar Free WiFi Smoke Free

Location

You can't get any closer to Times Square than this. The square is just at the end of the block, with Restaurant Row similarly nearby. Theaters abound, with more than half a dozen within a block or two. The 49 St station is your nearest connection to the subway system.

  • Distance to Times Square: 0.1 mile
  • Distance to Central Park: 0.4 mile

Property Amenities

Property services

  • Pets allowed
  • Luggage storage
  • Porter/bellhop
  • Concierge services
  • Dry cleaning/laundry services
  • Elevator/lift
  • Express check-in
  • Express check-out
  • 24-hour front desk
  • Multilingual staff
  • Safe-deposit box at front desk
  • Smoke-free property
  • Gift shops or newsstand
  • Local Expert Concierge
  • Tours/ticket assistance

Food and drink

  • Bar/lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Coffee shop or cafe

Parking

  • Self parking (surcharge)
  • Valet parking (surcharge)

Shuttles and transportation

  • Limo or Town Car service available

Activities

  • 24-hour fitness facilities

In-Room Amenities

Features

  • Air conditioning
  • Iron/ironing board
  • Private bathroom
  • Blackout drapes/curtains
  • Shower/tub combination
  • In-room safe (laptop compatible)

Bathroom

  • Free toiletries
  • Hair dryer
  • Shower/tub combination

Media and electronics

  • Free WiFi
  • iPod docking station
  • Pay movies
  • Flat-panel TV
  • Phone
  • Premium TV channels
  • Satellite TV service
  • HDTV

Services

  • Daily housekeeping

Bedding and linens

  • Egyptian-cotton sheets
  • Premium bedding
  • Hypo-allergenic bedding available
  • Down comforter
  • Pillowtop mattress

Reviews

Paramount

1,507 Reviews #375 of 511 hotels in New York City

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating

  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
  • Excellent
    500
  • Very Good
    393
  • Average
    251
  • Poor
    198
  • Terrible
    165

Recent Reviews

aaaLSTaaa wrote a review on February 24, 2020 London, United Kingdom
Trip Type:
  • Rooms
  • Value
  • Service

Frustrated Maintenance Guy? This is the place for you!

I'll be quite open to start with, we were really disappointed here as our package operator "forgot" to mention that the double bed in the Broadway Classic room was in actual fact 4ft wide. It’s a classic case of lost in translation, you know when our friends in the US say "jelly" and we in the UK say "jam", they say "pants" and we say "trousers". In this case The Paramount say "Broadway Classic Room" and we say "Pokey little hole". To give the Paramount their due, they did try to rectify the situation by upgrading us for free to the only room which was available i.e. an accessible double. Which whist it had a 4'6" bed was pretty lack lustre. In the UK, think 1980's motorway Travelodge. If you are thinking new Travelodge or Premier Inn, you are way above the standard of this room. The windows were ill fitting, making them no barrier to the sound outside and there were maintenance issues all over the place. One of the bank of lifts did not recognise the room cards so would not move once you were in. The solution? run up to the next floor and call another lift (yes really). In the first room the toilet cistern would not fill and therefore flush- it was constantly leaking and although I tried to fix it by making sure nothing was jammed in the "flappy thing", it would not fill. In the second room the basin plug would not seal so you could not fill the wash hand basin and additionally the heating did not work. Bottom line is that this place whist being near to Times Square, has very little going for it. We moved to another hotel after less than 12 hours in here (of which we were asleep for 8 of those hours). The only reason for the “average” rating is because they did try to resolve the issue which was actually the fault of our tour operator.
BristolBluebird wrote a review on February 24, 2020 Bristol
Trip Type:
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Service

Customer Value and Comfort Not of Paramount Importance to this Hotel!

My wife and I, together with our son stayed here last week. We had two rooms (1205 & 1212) and when we were checking in were told that we had been "upgraded" to better rooms, well, I absolutely dread to think of what we would have been staying ion had we not (supposedly) been upgraded! I'll start with the positives... firstly, the location of the hotel is fantastic for pretty much all of Manhattan. You can literally turn left out of the hotel and be in Times Square within two or three minutes and a main subway station (50th street on the "E" line) is only five to ten minutes walk away. This can connect you with Jamaica Station where you can change for the Air Train to JFK airport with a journey cost of $10.50 (or $11.50 with the cost of a Metro Card thrown in). A few of the staff members we spoke to were also very polite and friendly and the lobby area looks great. Lastly, the bed was comfortable and the bedroom warm, even in slightly chillier weather. Now I sadly come onto the negatives. The rooms are terribly small and very, VERY basic for the money (I'd even go so far as to say that I've stayed in better furnished and equipped Premier Inns and Travel Lodges). Our room had no dressing table/desk area (our sons at least had a very small, narrow perspex one). There were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room (which of course would have been nigh on impossible in our room anyway as there'd be nowhere to put it apart from in the built in wardrobe). The double glazing was totally inadequate and kept out no traffic noise whatsoever, despite us being on the 12th floor. We also suffered constant noise from the air conditioning fans outside (some six floors or so below). Our sons room hadn't been cleaned particularly well (he had fake rose petals and a plastic cup under his bed, clearly leftover from Valentines day two days earlier). The window in our room was scratched/marked really badly, preventing us from seeing out of it. Oh actually, there was another positive, we did have a built in wardrobe which also contained a hair dryer and an iron/ironing board! My two biggest issues of all though are the "facility" charge and the baggage holding fees. The "facility" charge (read extra way to rip off guests) supposedly covers things like wifi, hot & cold water which is available on level 4, Chromecasting on the TV, discounts the hotel can provide you at some "attractions", free phone calls, use of the gym and discount in the hotel bar. To my mind the only thing of any note that is outside of what you'd expect from any self respecting half decent hotel is the free international and local phone calls, and these days, how many people use hotel phones?? The actual charge for this..... with tax, $40 per room, PER NIGHT. That's a whole lot of extra revenue for the hotel for not a lot extra beyond what is usually the norm... Then, even though we'd just paid $120 per room (so $240 overall) for our three night stay, they also have the cheek to charge $2 per bag to look after your luggage for a few hours. Now I may not be the most worldly of travelers but I have NEVER in all my days been charged by any hotel (not even budget ones or even B&B's) to look after your bags for a couple of hours. My wife has worked in the hotel and hospitality industry for many years, from small boutique places to international chains like Hilton and she too has never seen any kind of charge made for this service. It may only be a small fee, but when you've just paid a further fee for facilities, why on earth is something this simple not included? we may be back in new York again in the not too distant future but we certainly won't be back to the Paramount any time soon.

AlexK6512, General Manager at Paramount Hotel New York, responded to this review

We appreciate the feedback. We regret to hear that you were caught off guard by some of the fees associated with your booking. It's unfortunate you didn't notice the fees previously. In no way do we intend on hiding it from our guests as the information is readily available on our website. We'll be sure to pass this along to the appropriate members of our team for future improvement. Thanks again for sharing your feedback. We're always looking for ways to improve our guests' experiences and we intend on using your concerns to do just that.

destenyedison wrote a review on February 24, 2020
Trip Type: Friends getaway

Expect the unexpected

The most appealing feature to this hotel is the main lobby. The bathroom was not clean to any human standards, room size is very small for the prices charged, and I was charged for additional fees and they make it practically impossible to speak to someone from "accounting" to get details about the charges.

AlexK6512, General Manager at Paramount Hotel New York, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback, destenyedison. We're disappointed our accommodations did not meet your expectations. It's also unfortunate you didn't notice all fees associated with your booking. We are able to offer a variety of additional services with the aid of our facilities fee. We'll be sure to address your concerns with the appropriate members of our team moving forward. We do hope you give us another opportunity to share a more positive experience with you soon.

846lauriew wrote a review on February 24, 2020 Brookline, Massachusetts
Trip Type:
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Service

Pleasant stay - good 3-star value.

We went at holiday time in December, so of course Times Square was jammed with tourists. But that's what we signed up for! All in all, this hotel was good. The room was small as one expects in NYC, but plenty pleasant and clean. There was a very long line for check-in (30 mins) but once we were in, we were happy. The breakfast offerings are very limited - don't have a breakfast sandwich from the refrigerator - go somewhere else! However the "cafe area" had fuseball etc. and turned out to be a great place to hang out with extended family (sister, brother-in-law, teenage niece and nephew) to relax and spend time together after a full day. The bar right next door has great small plates and drinks if you want a snack. Our TV did not work the first night, so they moved us to a new room. When we checked out, my fiance mentioned it, and the desk staff readily gave us back a credit on our card with no questions asked - it is refreshing to see staff so well prepared with above and beyond customer service options like that available to leave you with a great impression of the place. Recommended.

AlexK6512, General Manager at Paramount Hotel New York, responded to this review

Thanks for the 4/5 review, Laurie! We are glad you had a great experience with us! We are disappointed to see some of your concerns, and we will let our team know about them. We always work very hard to make sure all of our guests have a pleasant stay. We look forward to hosting you again for an even better experience. Thanks again, and have a lovely day!

kanietta wrote a review on February 24, 2020
Trip Type:
  • Rooms
  • Value
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Cleanliness
  • Service

Very good location

Location, very good. Maids service very good. Room extremely small, TV location awkward, blocking access, no fridge nor minibar. Small closet, no room for long coats. A/C doesn't reach bathroom. No extra pillows, blankets; no paper blocks, pen. Breakfast, poor selection.

AlexK6512, General Manager at Paramount Hotel New York, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback, Kanietta. It's unfortunate you had such challenges during your time with us. We're disheartened that our amenities and services offered weren't up to par with your expectations. We hold ourselves to a higher standard so we'll discuss your concerns with the appropriate members of our team moving forward. We hope for the chance to host you again soon for a more positive experience.

Policies

Deposit and cancellation policies vary by type of room. Please see policy information upon selection of room type.