Paramount

Midtown Hip Hotel
Paramount #372 of 507 hotels in New York City #372 of 507 hotels in New York City
Star ratings explained
235 West 46th Street New York, NY 10036
(212) 764-5500

Why we like it

  • Rooms are spotlessly clean and carefully maintained
  • The lobby has an impressive atmosphere, which sets a nice mood for your stay
  • The Diamond Horseshoe Cabaret Theater is located below, and is quite an experience
  • Decor goes for a hip aesthetic-and succeeds beautifully
  • A game area is tucked into the house restaurant is a stylish diversion

What you need to know

  • Rooms are lovely with ultra-modern sensibilities
  • You can leave your luggage in secure storage when you check out
  • WiFi is available for free in the lobby, or at a surcharge in your room
  • The on-site dining venue also offers live performances
  • A historical treasure, this hotel opened in 1927 and has a rich musical legacy

Popular Times Square Features

Walk to Times Square Walk to Central Park Free Breakfast On-site Bar On-site Restaurant Rooftop Bar Free WiFi Smoke Free

Location

You can't get any closer to Times Square than this. The square is just at the end of the block, with Restaurant Row similarly nearby. Theaters abound, with more than half a dozen within a block or two. The 49 St station is your nearest connection to the subway system.

  • Distance to Times Square: 0.1 mile
  • Distance to Central Park: 0.4 mile

Property Amenities

Property services

  • Pets allowed
  • Luggage storage
  • Porter/bellhop
  • Concierge services
  • Dry cleaning/laundry services
  • Elevator/lift
  • Express check-in
  • Express check-out
  • 24-hour front desk
  • Multilingual staff
  • Safe-deposit box at front desk
  • Smoke-free property
  • Gift shops or newsstand
  • Local Expert Concierge
  • Tours/ticket assistance

Food and drink

  • Bar/lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Coffee shop or cafe

Parking

  • Self parking (surcharge)
  • Valet parking (surcharge)

Shuttles and transportation

  • Limo or Town Car service available

Activities

  • 24-hour fitness facilities

In-Room Amenities

Features

  • Air conditioning
  • Iron/ironing board
  • Private bathroom
  • Blackout drapes/curtains
  • Shower/tub combination
  • In-room safe (laptop compatible)

Bathroom

  • Free toiletries
  • Hair dryer
  • Shower/tub combination

Media and electronics

  • Free WiFi
  • iPod docking station
  • Pay movies
  • Flat-panel TV
  • Phone
  • Premium TV channels
  • Satellite TV service
  • HDTV

Services

  • Daily housekeeping

Bedding and linens

  • Egyptian-cotton sheets
  • Premium bedding
  • Hypo-allergenic bedding available
  • Down comforter
  • Pillowtop mattress

Reviews

Paramount

1,188 Reviews #372 of 507 hotels in New York City

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating

  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
  • Excellent
    396
  • Very Good
    314
  • Average
    194
  • Poor
    162
  • Terrible
    122

Recent Reviews

travelwithziggy wrote a review on December 03, 2019 Dakar, Senegal
Trip Type: Friends getaway
  • Rooms
  • Value
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Cleanliness
  • Service

hotel experience

a little bite deaspointed. i had big expectations before coming to the paramount hotel but that was not so cool enough. the room were very small because we booked it by late night hotel but after 2 nights my friend and i would like to change moving to another but that was not possible
sarahpritchard1981 wrote a review on December 03, 2019
Trip Type: Family
  • Rooms
  • Value
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Cleanliness
  • Service

Location PERFECT. Rooms adequate.

Having been frequent visitors to New York we were keen to choose a modern hotel close to Times Square, and felt the Paramount met our needs. Our feedback on certain areas as follows. Location - PERFECT. Situated just off Times Square we could not have wanted for a better location. Very happy. Arrival - Our arrival was good, the day on reception was very welcoming and friendly. However, we were hit with the information that we would have to pay a nightly facility fee. We had not been made aware of this prior to our arrival. We understood that it covered the cost of the internet, local and international calls and the use of a paramount card which gave discount at certain venues. We were not provided with the details of the discounted venues until we prompted later in the day. This fee was disappointing. Be aware of the nightly $40 fee.....and ask for the discounted venues on check-in (although there are only a few and we only made use of the 10% discount at the M&M store). Room - Upon entering our room it was clear that it was not what we had booked. We had booked a premium double, which at the point of booking specified 2 x double beds. Our room had 1 x double bed. When we approached reception, the member of staff brusque and surly. She stated that our room was a premium double and that we had specified 1 bed on booking. This had not happened and we were not accommodated further. On our second night in the hotel the room was very cold, and the heating was not working. There was a significant draft through the window. Again, upon complaining, we were told an engineer would come to the room.....this never happened. We frequently visited reception and were told someone would look at it. They didn't. Our nights were spent very cold. In addition the room was noisy. Positioned near to the flag pole, in high winds it was banging, and during one night there was gas works being conducted on 46th St outside the hotel, the hotel were unaware and guests were not given prior notice. Overall the room was a massive let down, and did not reflect the ambience and reception of the entrance lobby. Breakfast - We were pleasantly surprised on check-in to be told that a continental breakfast would be served at the hotel, as prior to the trip we had been informed we would be provided with vouchers to dine elsewhere. Breakfast was plentiful - Having to queue with a paper box to receive breakfast was a bit like being in school. Could be looked at.
Tonilfc wrote a review on December 03, 2019 Liverpool, United Kingdom
Trip Type: Couples
  • Rooms
  • Value
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Cleanliness
  • Service

Rude and poor communication

Arrived at hotel and gave booking reference from virgin but hotel could not find booking. After an hour wait still no reply from management we enquired on an update to be told by rude staff nothing we can do you can always phone virgin yourself which we did and miraculously booking was found with no explanation. Advised of the security deposit of $50 per night which we already was aware of and no other charges as facilities fee included. On arriving to our room which was nice and spacious deluxe king room we unpacked and headed out for food upon returning to hotel decided to check card balance for any discrepancies which i found £343 in the pending account and another charge for over £30 ?? Decided to check with hotel the reason for this the next day. Went on the early bus to Philadelphia the next morning and got back very late so management was not around at that point to query charges so next morning checked my card balance to find the original £343 was now £713 and the £30 was now £183. Shocked and appalled i went to reception to speak ti “new” manager who advised me it was our room charges as we have not paid our room 🤷‍♀️ We explained we have paid as booked via virgin and this was already settled with duty manager on arrival date but got reply of well get me you’re documents. I asked to speak to the duty manager who was on who arrived 5 minutes later and confirmed our booking apologised and said he had to sort our booking and all charges would be dropped. I took his word and yes the 2nd charge was dropped but other £713 of room not paid money is still pending on my card. Checking out and spoke again to staff who rudely advised me nothing they could do its now the security deposit and as there was no charges on my actual account it will be returned to me in due course. I have been home a few days now and still not returned. Would not stay again room and lobby nice that is all lying rude staff spoilt our stay
Nightmarewishy wrote a review on December 03, 2019 London, United Kingdom
Trip Type: Couples
  • Rooms
  • Value
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Cleanliness
  • Service

Great location.

Great location for all sight seeing. Rooms were quiet and we slept well. Hotel was a little run down and we did have issue with bathroom and were moved promptly by staff. Bedrooms were smaller than I thought they would be.
Jboxie wrote a review on December 02, 2019
Trip Type: Couples
  • Rooms
  • Value
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Cleanliness
  • Service

What a gem!

Great location, beautiful hotel, with a wonderful atmosphere. I was worried after reading previous reviews but what a great hotel. I would not hesitate to come back here. As long as you expect a slightly smaller room due to the NY premium on space it really is a great hotel.

Policies

Deposit and cancellation policies vary by type of room. Please see policy information upon selection of room type.