The Night Hotel - Times Square

Midtown Hip Hotel
The Night Hotel - Times Square #411 of 509 hotels in New York City #411 of 509 hotels in New York City
Star ratings explained
157 West 47th Street New York, NY 10036
(212) 768-3700

Why we like it

  • The lobby is a work of modern art
  • A huge aquarium provides tranquil entertainment in common areas
  • Maple, the on-site restaurant, has rustic appeal and an appealing menu
  • Rooms feature cutting edge design
  • Practically on top of Times Square

What you need to know

  • From a restaurant paneled in reclaimed barn wood to a lounge swirling with light sculpture, this entire hotel is a photo op
  • Immerse yourself in your favorite music with in-room Bose sound systems
  • Luxury toiletries and fluffy robes help you relax after an exhilarating day in the city
  • Enjoy breakfast in bed with their B&B package
  • Dry cleaning services are available on site

Popular Times Square Features

Walk to Times Square Walk to Central Park Free Breakfast On-site Bar On-site Restaurant Rooftop Bar Free WiFi Smoke Free

Location

A hop, skip, and a jump from Times Square, you can't get much closer to one of the Big Apple's premier attractions. Other hot spots, like Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, and more are all a very short distance away by foot, taxi, or subway. Speaking of subways, your best bet is either 49 St, two blocks north, or Rockefeller Center Station, two blocks east.

  • Distance to Times Square: 0.4 mile
  • Distance to Central Park: 1.0 mile

Property Amenities

Property services

  • Luggage storage
  • Concierge services
  • Dry cleaning/laundry services
  • Elevator/lift
  • Express check-out
  • 24-hour front desk
  • Multilingual staff
  • Smoke-free property
  • Tours/ticket assistance

Food and drink

  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)

Parking

  • Self parking (surcharge)
  • Valet parking (surcharge)

Activities

  • Free use of nearby fitness center

Business services

  • 24-hour business center
  • One meeting room

In-Room Amenities

Features

  • Air conditioning
  • In-room safe
  • Iron/ironing board
  • Desk
  • Private bathroom
  • Shower only

Bathroom

  • Bathrobes
  • Free toiletries
  • Hair dryer
  • Designer toiletries

Media and electronics

  • Cable TV service
  • Free WiFi
  • iPod docking station
  • LCD TV

Services

  • Daily housekeeping

Bedding and linens

  • Egyptian-cotton sheets
  • Pillowtop mattress

Reviews

The Night Hotel - Times Square

5,386 Reviews #411 of 509 hotels in New York City

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating

  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
  • Excellent
    1259
  • Very Good
    1989
  • Average
    1184
  • Poor
    521
  • Terrible
    433

Recent Reviews

Denise H wrote a review on January 14, 2020 Ridgeland, Mississippi, United States
Trip Type: Friends getaway
  • Rooms
  • Value
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Cleanliness
  • Service

The best place for a theatre enthusiast to stay!

I LOVE LOVE LOVE this hotel! Close to all the theatres, clean and stylish, and the staff are incredible! I always stay here and have recommended it to a number of friends. After staying there, they agree with me!

Cruiser03139937445, General Manager at OYO Times Square, responded to this review

Thank you for the praise, Denise! We're so glad that you chose to stay with us here at OYO Hotel Times Square! It makes us extremely happy to hear that you were so impressed with your experience and have stayed with us multiple times in the past, as well! We're thrilled that you appreciate our close proximity to theaters and how modern our facilities are! Our staff is dedicated to providing kind, efficient service, so we'll be sure to pass along your kind words to them. We certainly appreciate your recommendations to others, and look forward to your next stay with us! Have a beautiful day, Denise! Thank you again for taking the time to share.

Michele G wrote a review on January 14, 2020
Trip Type: Couples
  • Rooms
  • Value
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Cleanliness
  • Service

Small rooms, great location.

Don’t let the pictures fool you, these rooms are tiny, especially for 2. However, the hotel is located right next to time square. We’re talking about walk out of the hotel, and you’re a building away. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Something we learned the hard way ($21 for 4 water bottles later) is that if you ask the front desk, they give out free water! Take advantage of that! Overall I’d stay here again simply for the location. The rooms are no frill, but it’s worth it.

Cruiser03139937445, General Manager at OYO Times Square, responded to this review

Thanks, Michele! We're pleased to hear you had a nice time with us! It's wonderful you appreciated our prime location and friendly service. We look forward to hosting you again soon for an even more positive experience.

Lblake1989 wrote a review on January 11, 2020
Trip Type: Couples

Simple and satisfactory

I was really apprehensive about our stay after seeing some reviews but thankfully we had a pleasant stay. I think people need to remember where your staying. I booked as a package on expedia and the hotel was the best price. The rooms are clean and have what you need, bed, tv , desk, iron and board, hairdryer, phone and bathroom. Yes there is no fridge but cant say many hotels I go to have then in prime locations. There is a wardrobe which is small but sufficient again the hotel is aimed at just a couple of nights stay There is a facility fee which was 15usd but this was also on my booking confirmation there were no other hidden costs we experienced. The lifts are below average but nothing to get so enraged about as people have on some reviews. Staff were always pleasant ans helpful. Luggage storage was a great benefit as we had an evening flight. You are literally right in times square there is going to be noise at all hours. There is construction going on currently but ive herd louder air con units on holiday and also the hotel cant control that. There is literally everything at your finger tips.

Cruiser03139937445, General Manager at OYO Times Square, responded to this review

Thank you for the 4-star rating and review! We are sure glad to receive this praise in regards to your stay with us here at OYO Hotel Times Square! It was our pleasure to host you for a stay in the city. We endeavor to provide you with the most comfortable experience possible, so it's rewarding to hear that you found your room to be cleaned and well-equipped with necessary amenities! It's also wonderful that all of our staff treated you with such kind and attentive service. We appreciate you sharing feedback about our elevators, as well, and we will consider this concern as we move forward. Thanks again for sharing! We'd love to welcome you back for an even more positive experience in the future! Have a good day.

bexsmile wrote a review on January 10, 2020 Welshpool, United Kingdom
Trip Type: Couples

Dont stay here

Location is excellent, however the hotel is not 4* (even by Manhattan standards). My 5th visit to New York and this hotel was so poor we checked out and went somewhere else. We arrived late on the first night, which is the only reason we stayed the first night. The hotel has recently changed ownership and seems to be on a downward spiral. It was called the Night Hotel when we booked, and no one had the courtesy to tell us it had changed name (thanks Expedia!). Only 1 lift was working which caused lengthy delays. The room door felt very insecure - which was probably a good thing as the card access reader rarely worked. This meant I spent long period in the hotel corridor where the smell of cannabis/marijuanas was very strong. The room was small - but thats to be expected in Manhattan, but human hair in the bathroom is not to be expected. When we complained to the staff, they were very apologetic, and have obviously heard lots of complaints recently - i felt very sorry for them. I spoke to the hotel manager Erica who agreed that we would received a full refund for the remaining nights - becasue we booked through Expedia she said the refund would have to be processed through Expedia. So far i've complained 3 times, but received no contact about the refund. Don't stay at this hotel, it's clearly being run down with no investment - no chance it will get 4* in its current state.

Cruiser03139937445, General Manager at OYO Times Square, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us. We're disappointed to hear that your time with us was less than ideal. We regret your challenges with our elevators as well as the cleanliness of your room. All of your concerns will be addressed with the appropriate members of our team for improvement. We hope to welcome you back soon for a more positive experience.

ericwdj27p23381rb5bf wrote a review on January 10, 2020
Trip Type: Business
  • Rooms
  • Value
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Cleanliness
  • Service

Great stay in NYC

Very positive, staff was very helpful. I stayed there for 1 night before my interview in Manhattan and it was conveniently located and well priced. I would recommend staying here for anyone on a business trip in NYC.

Cruiser03139937445, General Manager at OYO Times Square, responded to this review

Thank you for the glowing feedback, Eric! We're thrilled that your business stay with us was so wonderful! Our team takes pride in offering our guests top-notch service, and your feedback assures us we are succeeding! We're looking forward to the opportunity to host you again soon for another wonderful stay! Have a lovely day!

Policies

Deposit

...

Cancellation

...