Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan

Midtown Brand Hotel
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan #225 of 505 hotels in New York City #225 of 505 hotels in New York City
Star ratings explained
1605 Broadway At 49th St New York, NY 10019
(212) 977-4000

Why we like it

  • Exceptional views of Times Square and other famous attractions
  • Rooms are spacious by New York standards
  • A full New York Sports Club on the 15th floor is packed with equipment and activities
  • The fitness center includes a sizable pool and a steam room
  • Corner rooms, in particular, have awesome views

What you need to know

  • Breakfast is available at a surcharge
  • Room service is available with enticing menu options
  • Cocktails at the rooftop bar and lounge overlooking times Square beg to be photographed
  • Ample space for groups or businesses, including a ballroom and plenty of media suites
  • Plan ahead, you need to make a reservation to use the pool

Popular Times Square Features

Walk to Times Square Walk to Central Park Free Breakfast On-site Bar On-site Restaurant Rooftop Bar Free WiFi Smoke Free

Location

On the corner of Times Square, this is an outstanding choice for those seeking the quintessential Manhattan experience. Beyond Times Square and Broadway, this hotel is within walking distance of Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, and more. The nearest subway station is across the road at 49 St.

  • Distance to times Square: 0.3 mile
  • Distance to Central Park. 0.8 mile

Property Amenities

Activities

  • Fitness facilities
  • Indoor pool
  • Shopping on site

Property services

  • Pets allowed
  • Babysitting or childcare (surcharge)
  • Luggage storage
  • Porter/bellhop
  • Concierge services
  • Dry cleaning/laundry services
  • Elevator/lift
  • Express check-in
  • Express check-out
  • 24-hour front desk
  • Multilingual staff
  • Safe-deposit box at front desk
  • Babysitting or childcare
  • ATM/banking
  • Gift shops or newsstand
  • Free newspapers in lobby
  • Local Expert Concierge
  • Tours/ticket assistance

Food and drink

  • Bar/lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Health club
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Coffee shop or cafe

Business services

  • 24-hour business center

Parking

  • Valet parking (surcharge)

In-Room Amenities

Features

  • Air conditioning
  • Iron/ironing board
  • Desk
  • Private bathroom
  • Blackout drapes/curtains
  • In-room safe (laptop compatible)

Media and electronics

  • Cable TV service
  • Free WiFi
  • Pay movies
  • Flat-panel TV
  • Phone
  • Video-game console
  • Premium TV channels
  • HDTV
  • MP3 docking station

Bathroom

  • Free toiletries
  • Hair dryer

Services

  • Daily housekeeping

Bedding and linens

  • Premium bedding
  • Rollaway/extra beds (surcharge)

Reviews

Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan

11,521 Reviews #225 of 505 hotels in New York City

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating

  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
  • Excellent
    5411
  • Very Good
    3849
  • Average
    1337
  • Poor
    511
  • Terrible
    413

Recent Reviews

Benze69 wrote a review on August 16, 2019 Auckland, New Zealand
Trip Type: Couples

Service without smile

I’m being pretty generous here with 3 stars, the hotel location is extremely awesome and central we get to check-in early which is great the room is decent size but no bar fridge so if you need cold water at night you won’t have it. The check out was easy but the bell man Kam is terrible to dealt with I felt like someone force him to be at work no smile and terrible manner which wasn’t nice to dealt with when you are on holiday.

CrownePlazaTimesSq, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to reach out to us, Benze. We are deeply disappointed to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay. We pride ourselves on our welcoming, kind staff, so it is upsetting to hear about this kind of service. We will let our management team know about your experience and see what we can to ensure this won't happen again in the future. If there is anything we can do to accommodate a future stay with us, please let us know. We'd love another opportunity to show you how amazing we are so we look forward to hosting you again soon. Warm regards, Alex K. Social Media Manager

pert412 wrote a review on August 15, 2019 Bexhill on Sea
Trip Type: Family

Great Location

For a quick 2 nights visit to New York I thought it was best to stay as central as possible, and booked 2 nights for 5 people. Booking and room location was as asked for, and off course you can’t really complain at the location. However the first impression when you arrive is not very good, and I guess it didn’t help when we waited in a line for more than 20 min to get checked in. Especially when you have just arrived in the US and want to go to bed. The rooms we had was typical the US , two large queen beds per room, big telly a long desk and one armchair. The room was booked to have a view to Times Square, and yes if you leant on the window and looked right you did see it, was that worth the extra money? No. Woke up early next morning and no warm water in the shower, so it was a cold start for us all. Made the reception staff aware of this and it was fixed by morning 2, however not much of a compensation was offered for this inconvenience.... the bathroom and bedroom could do with a refresh, especially the bathroom where railings where hanging off the wall. Breakfast both days was superb, and it I would highlight any staff groups it would be the breakfast staff. Great cold and warm choice selections of all you could want to eat and drink for breakfast. We used the bar downstairs one late evening and it was pleasant enough. The hotel also had a good bakery / snack shop at reception level which was very good. Would I stay here again? Based on the high price and other options of global brand hotels nearby, I guess I would try another one.

CrownePlazaTimesSq, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review

We appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your feedback, pert142. Although we’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed our central location and breakfast offerings, it’s disappointing to hear that you weren't completely satisfied with our accommodations and check-in process. We pride ourselves on providing excellent service and a comfortable environment to our guests at all times so please know that your concerns will be addressed to the appropriate members of our team moving forward. We do hope you allow us another opportunity to share a more positive experience with you soon. Warm regards, Alex K. Social Media Manager

SKKF wrote a review on August 15, 2019 Toronto, Canada
Trip Type: Family

Decent hotel

This is a decent hotel right in the thick of things in Times Square. There are several food options and the prices weren’t ridiculous. Overall the staff was friendly with the exception of one person in the restaurant-I believe she was the hostess or manager. She was downright rude and could be reminded how to properly treat customers. There was an anime convention while we were visiting which was a bit overwhelming but it was only for a couple of days so tolerable. The rooms are big for NYC which was great but a little tired with ripped curtains and musty smell.

CrownePlazaTimesSq, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review

Thanks for the nice rating! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We're happy that you loved our central location. We strive to provide our guests with warm hospitality, efficient service, and clean rooms. Regarding your concerns with our decor, we will bring those to the attention of our team as we continue to improve for the future. We'd love to share a more positive experience with you next time. Have a beautiful day! Warm regards, Alex K. Social Media Manager

Ironrangechick wrote a review on August 14, 2019
Trip Type: Friends getaway

Great Location!

We stayed at the Crowne for almost a week while in the city. Loved the location. Close to great restaurants and theatres. Our room was ready when we arrived so we got to check in right away which was great. Staff was friendly and attentive. There were four of us (all adults) sharing a room and it was very comfortable. Slept like a baby every night. Have stayed here before and will definitely come back!

CrownePlazaTimesSq, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review, Ironrangechick. We're happy you enjoyed your time with us so much at the Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan! We care deeply about the happiness and satisfaction of our guests so it's excellent you appreciated our prime location. We love seeing our guests take advantage of our proximity to so many wonderful attractions. We appreciate your compliments regarding our hardworking team. We pride ourselves on providing excellent service to our guests and we strive to go above and beyond expectations. We love offering the most relaxing and comfortable experiences with our guests and your praise for our bedding lets us know we're doing our job. We look forward to sharing another amazing experience with you soon! Have a fantastic day! Warm regards, Alex K. Social Media Manager

Kingjay2000 wrote a review on August 14, 2019 Overland Park, Kansas
Trip Type:
  • Sleep Quality
  • Cleanliness
  • Service

Great Location but felt property needed help

First off I know location is king, especially in Manhattan. But with that said you charge a certain amount your clientele expect their monies worth. Nowhere was I told this building was under construction made it hard for an out of towner to find the building. Once inside things where much better. Cleaner and more up to date, other than all of the lobby area windows covered in construction tarp. Check in took a bit as they were busy and there wasn't a large waiting line area so we all felt cramped. The check in process itself went fairly quickly but it the rep had to call someone to switch a room fro us(?) they did was give us two drink coupons for the small bar they have in the check in area. The room itself was clean and has an amazing view for times square.(which we had purchased). But the toilet paper holder was falling out of the wall. The shower on/off handle would spin and didn't seem to be bolted in?!?! We had reserved the room for 3 days and we were a family of four, they always seem to give only enough towels for three. So we called down and had some more delivered and they did promptly deliver them. But each day they cleaned our room they gave us less and less of everything. Started with 4 coffee pods and the final day we were there they left only one. Started with three sets of towels final days was left 2 sets. Just seemed very odd. Again the location was great being only steps away Times Square and a multitude of attractions and shops. But not worth the price we paid. Not only was the hotel expensive but we ended up paying more than $240 just to have our car valet parked through the hotel for three days. Again I know NYC is expensive but at some point you need to feel you got your monies worth somewhat.

CrownePlazaTimesSq, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback. It's unfortunate you had such challenges during your time with us. We're disheartened that our amenities and services offered weren't up to par with your expectations. We hold ourselves to a higher standard so we'll discuss your concerns with the appropriate members of our team moving forward. We hope for the chance to host you again soon for a more positive experience. Warm regards, Alex K. Social Media Manager

Policies

Deposit and cancellation policies vary by type of room. Please see policy information upon selection of room type.